Observations from the Art Café

An orange bus drives past,
people wander into the Westgate,
glaring at the blue light in their hands,
as an old man dons his mask to walk into the Library.

The chairs are up on the tables in Comptoir Libanais,
someone cycles past the window, Airpods in,
purple and pink flowers on the window ledge are a nice touch,
some colour to oppose the grey of the day.

Disposable coffee cups are being sipped from,
a man scoots past on a rental scooter,
bobble hats are a regular sight,
the people look cold outside.

I, on the other hand, are toasty warm,
I see a red bus drive by,
almost everyone I see has headphones,
what are they listening to?

Fortunately, masks are still being worn,
no one wants to catch Covid,
even if a lot of the country has had a booster,
I hope this grey cloud moves on.

RGE

Published by rowanellett15

I have a degree in Journalism from Falmouth University. I love to write my own poetry and a book is never far from my hands. Keep an eye out for new content. I try to post regularly. Thank you, Rowan Ellett.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started