Entry 6: Be creative with food

Thursday 4th May 16:38 – 17:09

This meal is something you need to try. Cut a courgette, butternut squash (I had only a half which still works), red onion into large (ish) chunks. Slice one end of the garlic cloves, so that when they have been roasted you can squeeze them out in a satisfactory fashion. Chuck this all on a roasting tray and into the oven at 180. Allow to cook for roughly 25/30 minutes, turning half way through, or until you are happy with the colour on the vegetables.

While all of those good, healthy vegetables are going tender, maybe read a book. My current read is The Road to Little Dribbling by Bill Bryson (American Journalist), thank you Grandma. Make sure to put a pot of pasta on the boil so it finishes at the same time as the vegetables. Take the tray out of the oven turning it off in the process. For the sauce I used ricotta, some double cream and I added chopped up parsley. Then mix it altogether. Remember to take the skins of the garlic otherwise you may discover it later in one unpleasant mouthful. You could opt for a tomato sauce instead or leave it plain. It is a delicious array of colour.

Just something for you to try. I am going for more.

In 10 days I am running in the Oxford Town and Gown 10k and I cannot tell you how excited I am! My first competitive race in a few years (the last being the Blenheim 7k) and I feel so ready. Training has become part of my life over the last three-and-a-half months that I have got back into running again. When I first laced up my running shoes to conquer the crowded, tourist filled streets of Oxford.

In the last few days, I have set off on the adventure of a diary. I fill it in at the end of each day and hope to continue this for as long as I can. Memories upon memories of my daily life. Not all things of an extraordinary nature, some simple, boring, every day situations. Life is not always Instagrammable and that is what makes it special and worthwhile.

This has been #6.

R.

Published by rowanellett15

I have a degree in Journalism from Falmouth University. I love to write my own poetry and a book is never far from my hands. Keep an eye out for new content. I try to post regularly. Thank you, Rowan Ellett.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started