A weekend off

It is Saturday, the 25th day of February and I am sitting upright in my bed, eating a plate of marmalade on chia rye. Before the plate was on my bed, the curtains were drawn, the room lit and I was reading. My clothes and towels are drying around the room, amidst my numerous books, and shoes that are scattered over the floor.

I started the day with a few sips of freshly squeezed orange juice that I bought at Sainsbury’s. The one where you juice the oranges yourself, and the fruit rotates above before getting minced so you can enjoy the fresh juices. Try it.

This week has been dominated by 8am starts and difficult customers; people who seemingly forget that the cafe opens at 9am, even though they are trying to get in before every single day. Before, during, and after however, I am getting in a lot of reading, which I am most happy about. I have almost come to the end of Lawrence Durrell’s, ‘The Greek Islands’, one that is a historical and informative telling of a country which everyone should try to explore.

This will be my fourth book of 2023 (so I am currently averaging a book every two weeks). That would mean that by the end of the year I would have read 24 books. I have never kept a record of the books I have read in a single year, so this is that year. Time to get a move on Rowan.

I have now drunk my coffee, a simple black instant coffee which I enjoy. That will be my one coffee (caffeinated) for the day. Coffee is the one drink, aside from water, that I will have every day without fail. But when you work somewhere surrounded by the stuff, and you actually like making a coffee with the art on top, then you are bound to consume many rounds of it a day.

We are almost at the end of the month and I have not been writing as much as I would have liked. Writing straight to my blog I mean, this is something that I am going to be doing more of. The poetry in my notebooks will continue, and a recording to TikTok will happen, but I will also share my thoughts and happenings on here as well.

R.

Published by rowanellett15

I have a degree in Journalism from Falmouth University. I love to write my own poetry and a book is never far from my hands. Keep an eye out for new content. I try to post regularly. Thank you, Rowan Ellett.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started